Christmas Day

I guess I half thought that by not doing the Santa thing, I’d miss out on the kids waking up at the crack of dawn on Christmas Day. Well, forget dawn. It was still pitch black outside when Jack crawled into our bed this morning. I told him he could stay IF he went to sleep. Sure, right. A few minutes later he is on his knees looking over the headboard out the window exclaiming, “I see the moon!” No kidding.

I’m a light sleeper – especially since having children. I could not sleep though all this wiggling and tossing and talking. My husband, John, could sleep through an explosion. It was to him, of course, that Jack directed all of his excited observations. He got no responses but Jack is a chiacchierone and does not even need another person in the room in order to have a meaningful conversation. At one point I heard him say something like, “Mama gets a present and Daddy gets a present and Harry gets a present and Jack gets a present!” So, I asked him, “Jack why are we all going to get presents today?” Smart boy. I thought he was going to say, “Because it’s Christmas” or at best “Because it’s Jesus’ birthday.” But my funny, sweet boy declared (loudly), “Because Jesus loves us!” Which of course led to a quick chat about the fact that the best gift Jesus gave us is Himself. Precept upon precept, you know.

We finally got out of bed a little after seven when Harry started adding his own sounds to Jacks and the cacophany was too great to ignore any longer. I made the coffee while DH got the boys dressed. We exchanged gifts and then my honey made kielbasa and eggs for breakfast. We had a lovely, liesurely morning before John had to go to work.

Now the kids are in bed and I’m waiting up. 🙂

Edited to add: I considered sharing some photos but Harry has a booger hanging out of his nose in every single picture.

4 thoughts on “Christmas Day

  1. Beth/Mom2TwoVikings says:

    LOL You had a day like we did…woke up the second Christmas in a row with sick kids! *sigh* But, fun was had by all! I’ll probably post pics tomorrow but, for now, I can barely keep my eyes op..zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  2. Anita (unashamed) says:

    What a lovely day you had. It sounds so idyllic – makes me miss those early Christmases with my own kids. I’m glad for you.

    And Jack…that is the BEST (and truest) explanation I have ever heard for why we give gifts at Christmas.

  3. sara says:

    Welllll……It’s an Americanization. The way it’s written here is actually feminine plural but obviously I’m not usingit that way and I pronounce it a little differently. kyeh kyeh rone. (trill that ‘R’)
    I’ll say it for you when I see you!

Leave a Reply

