Velveteen Kitty

 He sleeps with a rotation of stuffed animals but he is never without his “kitty.”  Tonight as I was tucking him in, he told me, “Kitty is real.  She’s a real kitty.  She’s a REAL cat.”  I said, “Oh really?  Wow.  What’s her name?”  He answered, “Velveteen.”

velveteen kitty

velveteen kitty

 The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams with illustrations by William Nicholson is another great children’s book that I didn’t read until I was an adult.  I read it to j only once or twice over a month ago; I can’t believe he remembers it.

5 thoughts on “Velveteen Kitty

  1. Anita (unashamed) says:

    Brent used to have a little stuffed kitty that he called Raja and he insisted that Raja was a real kitty too. It was very sweet to see him play with and talk to and cuddle Raja. To him, Raja WAS real. Who am I to say any different?

    PS. I cry every time I read that book.

Leave a Reply

