beach

Even though we rarely go to the beach anymore, it still feels like home.  No, not home exactly.  But familiar, intimate, but still  “other” and still exciting – like a date.  When we went last week, I even took a dip.  I know it’s been said before, but how amazing it is to look out and know that it goes on for what seems like forever!  

On Long Island, you can’t watch the sun come up over the water because if you’re looking at the ocean, you’re either facing north or south… or maybe there is a way if you go all the way out to one of the forks.  That’s something I’ll have to look into.  

The beach I went to as a teenager was actually on Jamaica Bay and not the Ocean at all but we hardly knew it.  Was that due to a bad sense of direction, the fact that our schools didn’t teach geography or was it that we just didn’t care?  Jamaica Bay is on the south shore of Long Island* in the borough of Queens in New York City.  If I remember correctly, we crossed two bridges to get to a peninsula, though, again, I don’t think we had any idea of the actual geography and no one I spent time with would have used the word “peninsula.”  From this jut of land that we hardly knew we were on, we’d be looking north over the water of the bay – looking back toward the mainland of the island.  

*Brooklyn and Queens are two of the five boroughs of New York City and are actually located on the western end of Long Island, however when most people speak of Long Island, they mean the counties of Nassau and Suffolk, which are not a part of New York City.  

4 thoughts on “beach

  1. sara says:

    I think if I had a car, I’d go more often. It’s about a 20 minute drive from my house. When I lived in Queens, I’d take the subway (which wasn’t actually a subway – it was an elevated train, otherwise known as an “el.” ) but that’s not possible from here – different beach and no public transportation to it. 😦

Leave a Reply

