preparing for my boy’s birthday

I was actually able to sneak out of bed before the kids today.  Most mornings I lie in bed afraid to go pee because one creak of our gappy old floor and nighttime is all over.  But today, ahhhhhhhhhh, I’m having tea all by myself.  I love spending the day with my kids, but some quiet thinking time is nice too.  And it’s nice to get a jump on the chores before the children get up.  

My oldest boy is turning four tomorrow and we’ll be having a small family party the next day, which is Saturday.  So today, I get to clean out the refrigerator and the pantry so I can think and move and then I’ll be baking the components of the cake and doing as much of the meal ahead of time as can be done.  Jack wants a cake with strawberries and whipped cream and a meal of spaghetti and meatballs and spinach salad.  And, Lord willing, that’s what he’s getting.  

I’ve got a new system for keeping the house clean which, because it is new, has got me motivated.  So, for once, I’m not obsessing about the toilets before a visit from my mother, who is really a lovely woman if a bit bleach obsessed.  

Well, I’ve got books to read and laundry to switch and fold before my little ones are awake, so until next time…

4 thoughts on “preparing for my boy’s birthday

  1. sara says:

    Leigh Ann, I don’t know how I missed your comment. Not a secret – just a specific number of minutes per room in the morning and in the evening. It’s a silly system and won’t last long, but I gotta shake things up sometimes. i really like the motivated moms calendar. You can probably google it if you don’t know what i mean.

Leave a Reply

