growing kids and vegetables

Jack is nearly through with the Sing, Spell, Read and Write pre-K curriculum.  He’s learned a lot this year, but I’m not sure it had anything to do with formal schooling.  We took a lot of breaks and there were weeks when we did no schooling at all except for reading, which I don’t count because it’s too much fun and is spread out during the day.  I was tempted to feel guilty about not being more consistent, but seriously, he’s four, and he’s doing fine.  He speaks well, has a delightful imagination, loves to “read” and be read to, makes artwork  and has ideas and questions that inspire me.  He teaches and explains things to his younger brother and wants to know how the baby in my belly is going to get out.  (Yes, we told him.)  Right now he’s making spears out of Tinker Toys.  We make time for cooking together, reading together, digging in the dirt, listening to music, playing with dough and scissors, glue and paper.  And we talk a lot.  He’s been helping me plant seeds for my square foot garden and keeps Harry from digging in it.  Among his “school” skills, he knows his letters, sounds and numerals.  He spontaneously adds things in his head just for fun.  

We’ve had more rain than sun for the past three weeks.  When I complained that the seeds I’d planted outdoors hadn’t sprouted yet, my husband asked in all sincerity, “Have you been watering?”  The other morning as it was pouring heavily, I joked to him that I was going out to water my garden.  Without missing a beat, he offered me the use of his umbrella.  He’s crazy but I love him.  

Hubby made me these two nice boxes from which the birds have been taking my beans and pea plants just as they germinate.  At least the radishes, lettuce and spinach seem to be growing unmolested.  Indoors, I’ve got some tomatoes, basil, pumpkins and cucumbers.  Jack planted some apple seeds yesterday and we wonder if they’ll grow and what we’ll do with them if they do.  

Harry is finally starting to talk – in sentences.  One of his latest is “Go way!” often yelled at a cat that is doing something it shouldn’t.  He is a great bear of a boy who climbs and falls and gets up for a kiss and then does it again.  I’m worried he won’t have any teeth if he keeps it up.  A few months ago he would see me sit in my spot on the couch and he’d crawl in my lap to nurse.  Now, before I even get to my spot on the couch, he brings me a book and says, “reeeed peas”  with a big, cheesy grin.  Then he says, “Mo reeeed peas, Mama.”  I’m in love.

6 thoughts on “growing kids and vegetables

  1. Leigh Ann says:

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwe, sweet life. I think if they love reading you have most of the battle won with education. Then it is just a matter of giving them good, well-written literature. That is why I love CM and her style. But I am learning that if I try so hard to be exactly like someone else, I am setting myself up for failure. So I’m taking what works for our family. Do you read aholyexperience.com ? She has lots of good ideas, but again I have to remember to do what works for me and not be discontent that I am not doing it just like her. It takes me a long time to learn.

  2. Anita (unashamed) says:

    Did you know that Ann lives about an hour or so west of me? She was in town this past weekend, presenting at a Home Educators Conference. I was tempted to attend just so I could meet her.

    I miss those days when the kids were little and we had all the time in the world to live and love and learn.

  3. Beth/Mom2TwoVikings says:

    Aw, sweetie – these moments of contentment make all the other stuff fade away, eh? LOL Good job with the big guy and congrats to the lil one for starting to express him *fully* LOL Enjoy – have a blessed Easter!

Leave a Reply

