Neil’s birth: the short version

I was uncomfortable/in pain for about four days before I actually went into labor.  My midwife was on vacation.  The stand-in was OK; I just wasn’t comfortable with her.  She encouraged me to scream instead of moan – it didn’t really work for me.  John slept through most of my contractions.  After about eight hours I asked to go to the hospital because I wanted to be out of pain.  

The doctor at the hospital told me I’d be having a c-section before he even examined me.  And that’s what happened.  I got a lot of drugs, could barely keep my eyes open during the surgery and my baby, Neil did not breathe until he was intubated.

Neil was in the NICU for a week, during which time he was tested for everything.  There were blood tests and  cultures and a spinal tap and they found nothing.  They treated with seven days of antibiotics anyway.  

I cried everyday.  I made it to nearly every feeding so he could be nursed and have his head drenched by my tears.  

We’re home now.

That’s the rough sketch of facts.  I suppose I’ll be processing emotions for some time.

5 thoughts on “Neil’s birth: the short version

  1. Anita (unashamed) says:

    Hi. I’m so sorry that you and N had to go through this. It just stinks. I don’t know if I’m mad/sad/whatever about it – just a jumble of emotions at this point. Can’t even imagine what it is like for you. Give it time. You’ll work through it. Jesus has overcome even this – for you.

    I sure wish I could be there to give you a big hug and let you talk and cry, and help with J and H so you can get some rest, and change diapers and cook meals and do dishes, and pray with you. I just wish I was there.

  2. sara says:

    Oh Anita, I’ve missed you. I actually feel so much better since writing this. It’s like I just needed to tell the truth about it.

    My boy is lovely. Truly a sweet, snuggly little guy. I’m so glad he’s home and I have all my boys together under one roof. it was so hard being divided like that.

  3. Holly says:

    Ugh. I am so sorry, Sara. You’ve been on my mind and in my prayers. Hope that everything is on the upswing now….

    Yes, take your time processing. It’s healthy…

  4. PearlsOfTruth says:

    Congratulations Sara and family! I am so pleased your baby boy is home safe and sound. I have been checking here regularly to see if there was any news, so I am happy to see this time, there is.

    Were the blood tests and all that treatment because the doctors thought something was wrong? Seems like a lot of anguish for you both… glad he is ok now.

Leave a Reply

