Learning to fly

I was trying to get some time alone organizing my bedroom when I heard my oldest call from his bedroom where he was playing with his brother, “Mom, we’re practicing flying!”  What I found was two beds pushed close together, with only about an eighteen inch gap between them, and two boys flying from one bed to the other.

I said, “Oh boy,” and walked away to put the baby down for a nap.  I wonder if I should have stopped them but it  was a huge hurdle not to freak out over the moved furniture and completely toy-strewn floor.  And I say no to so many things and they weren’t being “bad” but they were just using up some winter energy.  As long as they don’t get hurt, I’ll think I made the right decision.

What would you have done?

3 thoughts on “Learning to fly

  1. Anita says:

    Well, when my kids were that age, I would have freaked out and screamed at them and made them stop. Because somebody could fall and hurt themselves and then there would be crying and possibly bleeding and oh what a headache that would be, not to mention another mess to clean up.

    Now? I’d probably join ’em?

    Have I mentioned how much I am looking forward to being a grandma? 🙂

Leave a Reply

