makeovers and marital aids

This post contains some adult content.

I think I have nothing to write but I have found that if I just start, then bits of flotsam wash ashore.  It is mostly inconsequential flotsam, but it is mine and since I am one of only a few readers, that’s alright then, isn’t it?

I was thinking recently about reinventing myself.  It is OK, I suppose, to want to dress a little better, put on a bit of lipstick, but a total reinventing?  Is that really even possible?  Wouldn’t that be more of a mask than a true reinvention?  And wouldn’t that be completely inauthentic?  And who would be the real person?  And why would I want to do that?  For whose benefit?  I’m thinking that “Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, But a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised.”  And I’m thinking that I’d like my reinvention to come from being daily changed into the image of Christ.  I’m thinking of being changed into that same image from glory to glory.

In other news, I had to cancel a catalogue today.  Have you ever heard of Vermont Country Store?  They sell linens and old-fashioned candy, steel reinforced undergarments and clotheslines.  And now they sell vibrators:  a fairly wide assortment of buzzing d**dos.  I am not, strictly speaking, against such devices necessarily, but catalogues with pictures of them must come wrapped in brown paper so that I am duly warned.  Seriously, I just don’t want pictures of fake penises lying around for my kids to find.

Well, that’s all the excitement around here these days.  Good night, sleep tight, don’t let the bedbugs bite.

5 thoughts on “makeovers and marital aids

  1. Leigh Ann says:

    ummm, yeah, that might be a little much for little eyes. but that seems weird in a catalog like that. I remember a magazine i used to get that sold all sorts of thing. one that made me lol was n@ked yoga. the n@ked bit was so that you could really see what the poses looked like so you could copy them better. yeah, right.
    about reinventing yourself, i have been thinking about that after reading some blogs that make me feel so inferior. i have to shake myself after a while and say, stop trying to be those people. God did not make you them. but there are things that i want to do because I am unhappy with them–lose weight after this bambino come, make more effort to fix up my hair the way markus likes it, etc. but when i think about a total remake, i can’t think of anyone i want to be (i guess that’s a good thing). i just want to be me only skinnier. but inner change is always needed.
    one more thing and i will stop hogging the comments section.
    i love my little heart. it is so cute. thank you so much. it was such a treat to get a surprise package just for me. anne marie likes it to, i have to keep stealing it from her and she keeps stealing it back:-).

  2. sara says:

    The real reason I’m leaving another comment is because I’m up to six hundred sixty-six comments. I didn’t think I was superstitious but I just can’t let that stand until some merciful friend leaves me a pity comment.

Leave a Reply

