sewing baby pants with a homemade pattern

This is what you are going to make.

1.  Find a pair of pants that fit the baby.

2.  Put one leg inside the other and lay the pants on a piece of cardboard or stiff paper.  An empty cereal box would work well for this.

3. Trace around the pants leaving room for a seam allowance.  I traced extra big because my gigantic baby keeps growing and because the pants I am tracing are stretchy while the fabric I am using is not – so I think I’ll need to allow a little more room in the legs.

4.  Cut out along the line.  Ta-da!  Pattern.

5.  Fold a piece of fabric.  Wrong sides together or right sides together, in this pattern it doesn’t matter.


6. Lay your pattern down on top of the fabric with the straight edge on the fold.

7. Trace around your pattern.

8. Cut the fabric along the lines you traced from your pattern.

9. Repeat steps 5 through 8.

10.  I’ve been working with my fabric with wrong sides together.  Now, fold each leg so that the right sides are together.  Pin if you want to.

11.  Sew up the inseam of each leg, but do NOT sew in that U shape.

12. After both legs are sewn, turn one of them right side out.

13.  Put the right side out leg inside the other leg with the seams lined up as perfectly as you can.  Pin in place.

14.  Sew this big U shape.

15.  Take the one pants leg out of the other.  Your pants should still be inside out.

16.  Fold over 1/4″ along the top.  Press with a hot iron.

17.  Fold over 1/2″ along the top.  Press with a hot iron.  This is the casing for the elastic.

18.  Sewing close to the edge, close up the casing, leaving about a 1/2″ opening.

19.  Cut a piece of 3/8″ wide* elastic a little shorter than the entire circle of casing.

20. Put a safety pin on the end of the elastic.  Close the safety pin.

21.  Use the safety pin to thread the elastic through the casing, being careful not to twist it.  Make sure it lays flat.  Push the safety pin all the way around until it comes back out the opening in the casing.

22.  Sew the ends of the elastic together very well – back and forth a couple of times.  Be careful here too not to twist the elastic because no one wants to wear twisty elastic.   Give a tug on the waist band to get the elastic back inside the casing.

Sorry, no picture.

23.  You can sew up that 1/2″ opening in the casing if you want to, but I didn’t.

24.  Sew up a hem on the bottom.  Or not.  I used a little zigzag stitch on mine.

The end.

What would I do differently?  I’d make the waist a little higher because the chunky boy has a mild case of plumber’s butt in these pants.  I’ll just tape about another inch or so to the top of the pattern and that should be good.  I’ll let you know.

*3/8″ wide elastic is what I happened to have in my sewing box.  Feel free to use any elastic that fits the casing.

4 thoughts on “sewing baby pants with a homemade pattern

  1. Dawn says:

    Excellent! I love your step by step instructions and the added arrows – I always get confused at those parts. Although I don’t need any baby pants (and the only spare fabric I have is Christmas or Butt Ugly Bright) the elastic and hems will be put to use! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

