Date Night

It seems that on my husband’s days off, by the time the kids are asleep, we are so zonked we can barely grunt at each other and usually wind up just vegetating with a movie.  There’s nothing wrong with that, but yesterday I warned him a few hours before bedtime that I’d like to do something different and I’d like him to come up with an idea.  I think the pressure almost made him catatonic, but he came through.

The day before, we had vegetated to this movie and were fascinated by hyperbolic parabola (do look it up yourself, as the science is beyond my ability to comprehend, let alone explain) and so my sweetie suggested we try making an origami model of one.

We used these instructions.

I hung them from the light fixture in the dining room just to torment my kids who are not allowed to touch them.  Of course, I can’t keep my hands off of them, flipping them back and forth, making them flap, pondering which is the inside and which is the outside.  It’s a very cool shape.

4 thoughts on “Date Night

  1. Beth/Mom2TwoVikings says:

    I haven’t dropped off the planet. You’ve been on my mind but things are insane here. We’re all fine but in panic mode on the job front. Mike graduated in May and was not chosen by the two local nuke plants. So, we’re on month 7 of layoff with no job prospects. 😛 Looking like a move in our future. I’m still on FB full time but just haven’t been able to commit to blogging again full time. Just wanted to say hello and send some hugs and kisses to you and your boys!

Leave a Reply

