Homeschool Year One

For about two years now I’ve been anticipating the time when my oldest would be ready to use Ambleside Online‘s Year One curriculum.  This September he’ll be ready.

I have spent a considerable amount of time using the AO resources and putting them into a weekly grid format that I hope will serve our family well.  I do expect that various modifications will have to be made as we learn together what works for us and what does not.

I am so grateful for all the work that has been done by the Ambleside Online contributors and creators.  Everything I needed was there and all free.  Thank you.

I found the list of Bible stories compiled by Penny Gardner especially helpful and particularly noteworthy.

I don’t know if this will be helpful to anyone but us, but here is our first term schedule:  AO Term 1, Year 1, 2010

12 thoughts on “Homeschool Year One

  1. Dawn says:

    I’d love to talk phonics with you. I’d be interested in comparing it. I see it starts out with a whole book – where do you take it the following week?

    Also – is that the Yummy Bug story?

    • sara says:

      I typed out a whole long answer and I lost it.

      Anyway, we’re starting with a story from a primer. I think I’d call it guided reading even though he can probably decode most of it all by himself.

      We’ll most likely drop formal phonics after he’s reading a bit more fluently. He mostly needs practice and sight words and a few secondary sounds.

      And yes, yummy bug. 🙂 Thank you, Aunt Dawn.

    • sara says:

      In other words, he’s already reading. He knows his vowel sounds and the primary sound of all the consonants and can blend simple words pretty well.

  2. Dawn says:

    Already reading! Rock on, Momma! I’ll send G4 over.

    So do you beat them over the head after reading the primer? ‘Cause that’s what *we* do ;p

    • sara says:

      LOL, to make it stick?

      I guess by way of explanation, I should say that our “phonics” isn’t full on phonics anymore unless you count reading practice as phonics, which I obviously do. So, he’ll be learning SOME new phonics rules and some sight words, but mostly just practicing for fluency.

      For the record, he did learn his sounds from SSRW prek and reinforced it with Sonlight’s language arts and then we practiced with “Bob” books. So technically that’s two years of phonics already. I wish I could figure out how to link those things in a comment but you can google them.

  3. Leigh Ann says:

    Yeah, you are back. Hope your school starts well. Anne Marie started her school last week. I am at home with Daniel, and he is doing so much better being able to concentrate.

    • Leigh Ann says:

      Yes, yes, cute, fine. Thank you so much for the card. It is sitting in my respond pile, but my correspondence is falling by the wayside. That’s a new baby for you. I can’t stop holding him and stroking his soft little face. He is just the best baby. I am serious. He just rarely gets upset. Happy baby.
      Anne Marie is going to K-5. We were looking at putting Daniel in a special school while I homeschooled Anne Marie, because he takes my full attention and distractions throw him totally off. But there is a waiting list at the school we want. So she is going to school and loves it. He is staying home and loves it. It is going so much smoother and is actually helping me with the structure of the day.
      I already raved about the baby. I am doing well. Trying to lose the weight, of course, and sleep, of course. But all in all it is going well. Love the cloth diapers.

Leave a Reply

