BLAH!, book and unemployment

First I need to apologize to the other ladies who were participating in the (Ten Ways to Destroy the Imagination of Your Child) book club, and especially to Cindy, for the way I flaked out. By way of excuse, I can only say that I felt “sick again, just plain sick to death of the sound of my own voice.”  The Internet suddenly seemed as large as it really is, and the noise, especially my own noise, was just too much.  Then after I got over that, I couldn’t return to talking about the book because I didn’t feel like being careful or precise in my words.  I just wanted to scream, “BLAH, BLAH, BLAH!  BLAH! AND BLAH!”  I don’t think it was any reflection on the book but just my own weirdness.  I’m sure there must be medication for people like me.  So, if anyone still cares, I finished the book.  I got some good stuff out of it, felt validated in some places where I’d already reached the same conclusions, and discarded anything useless.

In other news, my husband’s job burned down two weeks ago.  He’s been looking for work and has a couple of leads to potential part-time employment, but I just really want to blow this taco stand.  The taxes, the high cost of living, the ridiculous mortgage, the tiny yard, the I.H.I.P., quarterly reports and end-of-year assessments are all working together to make this an OK place to visit.  Where’s a nice place to live?

7 thoughts on “BLAH!, book and unemployment

  1. Kelly says:

    Oh. New York. We lived there for eleven months from 1994-1995, the year my oldest had her sixth birthday. I was SO glad to leave before she got to be compulsory age! Texas is the best state of all to homeschool in — no requirements whatever, not even a single notice of intent letter. After that, my preference is Virginia (if you fall under the religious exemption there are no requirements), and then Alabama (you join a cover school and never have direct contact with the state).

    Hope your husband finds a job soon and things work out for y’all.

    I wound up not posting much at all on that club, either. I skipped one week because the only thing worthwhile I thought of to say was way too personal for the blogosphere, and after that I just got tired of having to have an opinion. :-p

    • sara says:

      Kelly,
      Thanks for the info! I think we’re just coming out of the dreaming phase and beginning to enter the planning portion. I hope we can get this done before it’s no longer a choice.

      I’m sure the places you listed are lovable, but I have a thing about seasons – I like to have four of them, preferably with a little snow in one. 🙂 We considered Connecticut and New Jersey because of the homeschool laws, but there are other factors which have pretty much ruled them out.

      It’s just so hard to imagine leaving what has always been home. There are so many disadvantages to living here, but there is much to love too. If I could snap my fingers and increase the size of my yard which is tiny even by tiny standards, though it isn’t the absolute smallest I’ve ever seen; change the homeschool laws; lower the ASTRONOMICAL taxes; and cut through a lot of the bureaucracy that pervades much of life here, I’d like to stay. I like the climate and many of the people and my house. I want to hold on to our history. Though an entire half of my family has gotten out of New York, they still often pass through here for certain kinds of business and we get to see a lot more of them than we would if we only had scheduled visits.

      Some good news is that my husband is working. He is underemployed and underpaid, but it’s something.

      • Kelly says:

        I’m glad he’s found something.

        I have a friend who lives in New Jersey and feels a lot like you do — they’d like to go someplace better as far as taxes and regulations, but then their family connections run so deep — many, many generations back — that they hate to leave. That’s hugely important. Whereever you go, you’ll never have that again, and it will take generations for your decendents to have it. It’s not something to leave lightly.

Leave a Reply

