Back in the Day

IMG_3934My Aunt Chrissy taught me to pop hosta flowers.  It is so satisfying to find one that will really pop.  Chrissy liked Marathon bars and $50,000 bars and Charleston Chews.  I liked frozen Milky Ways like my mom.

I remember summer days at Grandma’s house that had that particular yellow sunshine glow that surrounds all the happy memories of my childhood.  The collie mutt, Teddy and Getdown, the neurotic Siamese.  Catching lightning bugs, playing with cousins.  Sprinklers and sparklers and green leafy canopies.

I hope my kids have memories like that.

Leave a Reply

