Rotten Day Rescued

My boys were really pushing my buttons this morning so we spent as much of the day together as we could.

They are going to build boy-sized nests in trees.  Yes, really.

They are going to build boy-sized nests in trees. Yes, really.

If my kids are being annoying, it’s usually my fault.  Maybe I’m distracted and not directing them properly or have been negligent in discipline, or I’m snippy and provoking them by my tone or attitude or maybe they’re just rubbing me the wrong way because I’m in a bad mood.  Whatever – it’s usually my fault.  I’m the parent and it’s my job to bring them up as best I can.  If they’re unpleasant to be around then I’ve been doing something wrong.

So, we went to my garden up the hill, weeded the strawberries (and planted a few extras that I still have in pots).  Then we sat under a tree for a story.  Then the boys built their nests in nearby trees while I read a book to myself.

Attitudes improved, arguments ended, work accomplished, summer day enjoyed, family together.  These are the days.

Leave a Reply

