Reading in 2014

This week I began to re-read Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott.  I first read it more than ten years ago, before I knew anything about the author and really had no business reading a book about writing fiction.  But I loved the book.  It was funny and easy to read.  This time around I’m enjoying it even more (even if I now see some of the anecdotes as the teeniest bit self-indulgent) because I “get” a lot more of what she’s saying.  Plus, I’ve learned not to skim books that I like.  Plus, plus, it is chock full of references to other authors that I stumbled upon in the years after I read her book – I must have skimmed right past them.  If I had let her point me in the right direction I could have found Wendell Berry years earlier than I did.  And because she mentions many other authors I have not yet read,  I give you the Anne-Lamott-inspired-list-of-books-I should-have-read-a-long-time-ago-but-haven’t-but-will-this-year:

  • more Berry – A Place on Earth
  • more Flannery O’Connor short stories
  • Faulkner – maybe Light In August
  • Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg
  • a biography of Eric Liddell if anyone knows of one
  • Aspects of the Novel by E.M. Forster
  • Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut
  • Chesterton – maybe Orthodoxy
  • The Art of Fiction by John Gardner
  • poetry of John Ashbery

I also just finished Till We Have Faces by C.S. Lewis.  I’m still chewing on it.

 

Leave a Reply

