Staged granola bars get stolen.

Updated to tell the truth about wasted food.

I’m listening to my kids try to figure out where each of the ingredients in their homemade granola bars is from.  The nine-year-old-who-knows-just-about-everything says, “Well, the oats and nuts  and sugar are probably from here.  Coconuts could be from Africa or New Zealand.  And raisins and “craisins” could be from just about anywhere.”

last time they were seen

the last time they were seen

By the way, my reward for staging a photo?  I turned my back and the dog ate half of these.

Update:

Well no, what really happened is he ate a couple and then I threw out the few that I thought his tongue might have touched.

No, what really happened is he ate a couple and then I threw out any I thought he might have breathed on.

Actually, I don’t throw out food if I can help it so what happened is I took the ones he might have breathed on and gave them to the chickens.

*sigh*  No, I took the ones he might have breathed on and dumped them on the ground in front of the chicken coop along with the leftover split pea soup but the chickens decided it was too cold and snowy to come out.  So there they sit,  and even the barn cats are ignoring the free food.

Phew, honesty is tiring.

This recipe is from Smitten Kitchen, whose recipes I almost always love.  These were no exception.  Word to the wise though:  chill them thoroughly before cutting or they will fall apart.

5 thoughts on “Staged granola bars get stolen.

    • Sara McDaren says:

      I remember thinking I was smarter than everyone and invincible too. He’s his mother’s son. Being a bossy know-it-all is annoying, but nothing a little organized sports won’t fix. It’s the invincible thing I worry about. He tells me they found a waterfall at the back of our property but they were “very careful” and he told his brothers to stay at least two feet back from the edge. Well, I took a “walk” back there with them yesterday – it could have been classified a non-technical climb.

      • Julie says:

        I have three boys, too. They’ve all been to the ER at least once. *sigh* Fortunately – by the grace of God – they’re very resilient!

Leave a Reply

