My Sewing Machine

I was feeling virtuous.  I was going to sew cloth napkins from some old clothes.  I’m not virtuous, we’re just short on money and we like to eat so paper goods don’t make the short list when we head to the grocery store.

My husband carried my sewing machine down to the living room for me because it turns out I’m not the kind of person who will use a craft room even when I have one.  And then this beast decided to give me a hard time.

Bertha?

Bertha?

Apparently it’s fussy and doesn’t like being carted around from room to room.  I  petted and patted it until its mood improved, but by then I was ready to be done.

I’d like to give it a name like Gladys or Lois or some other strong old timey feminine moniker, but maybe I’d better not get too attached.  It does remind me of my cranky old Aunt Carrie to whom it once belonged.

Once I had a newer machine – a gift from my husband when we were newly married but the stupid thing only lasted about ten years.  They just don’t make ’em like they used to.

6 thoughts on “My Sewing Machine

  1. Julie says:

    What does it say about our society that your aunt’s old machine (though cranky) will still work, but your newer one has already pooped out?!

    It definitely needs an old-timey name… Harriet, or Myrtle, or Ethel?

    But my sewing machine is Swedish, so hmmm…

    • Sara McDaren says:

      It says that there is no pride in workmanship; it says that plastic machines don’t last and yet will never decompose in the landfill; that “they” want us to keep buying and replacing. Gone are the days when major household appliances were meant to be long-term investments. Washers, refrigerators, sewing machines, furnaces – should last 20 years or more but they generally don’t. Most of them can’t even be repaired easily. And don’t get me started on Sears.

      But Myrtle! Yes!

      Swedish? Maybe Queen Silvia?

      I got to practice some free motion on my mom’s fancy Brother this weekend and all those computery bits scare me!

  2. Julie says:

    Myrtle was my great-grandma. Her son, Dana, (my grandpa) was the only one with a “normal” name, unlike brother Kharis, and sisters Clela and Zila. When I was born she said I had a “mighty strange name”. Go figure.

    • Sara McDaren says:

      I am laughing out loud. Yep, Julie is a mighty strange name. 😉 Are those names typical of your area or ethnic background? Myrtle is also the name of the avenue near my grandma’s old house. I get to honor your family and mine!

  3. Julie says:

    I have NO IDEA where she came up with those names. She and her husband moved out here from the midwest shortly after they married (very early 1900s). She may have been suspicious of my name because of Juliana – the beloved but rather eccentric Queen of the Netherlands.

    At any rate, I hope Myrtle continues to serve you well!

    Julie

Leave a Reply

