Running a Household, Excuses, and an App

I didn’t blog yesterday.  I clipped, emptied, exercised, fed, ironed, prepared, prayed, taught, wiped, dusted, organized, straightened, changed, cleaned, cleared, photographed, planned, cooked, ate, washed, dried, and folded.  I disciplined, encouraged, read and cuddled.  I talked, laughed, yelled and repented.  And then I fell asleep.  But I didn’t blog.

For a few years now I’ve been using on and off, this household management calendar by Motivated Moms.  I switch things up every now and then to keep me interested – plain running to do lists in a cheap notebook are my second choice –  but usually I find this the most helpful.  It would have taken me years and my sanity to design a personalized control journal this well thought out.  Well, now you can get it as an app or the usual downloadable, printable pdf.  An app!  I’m not much of a technology person, but this is so fun.  Yes, I guess homemaking must be my calling if I think a chore planning system  is fun.

Anyway, it’s been a couple of months since I had any kind of structure to my cleaning routine and it walloped me to get back into the swing of things.  I did manage to sleep the well-deserved sleep of the hard-working.  Bonus, I’m exercising again because it’s on the list.  Bonus bonus, I’m up before the kids enjoying a quiet cup of coffee.  Bonus bonus bonus, my husband came home from work one night and said, “I see that you’ve really been keeping up with everything – I hope that’s because you’re feeling better.  Anyway, I just want you to know that I noticed and I appreciate it. ”  Awwww.

This is part of Jennifer Fulwiler’s 7 Posts in 7 Days insanity so you can check out the other participants and look forward to more of my blather this week.

4 thoughts on “Running a Household, Excuses, and an App

  1. Julie says:

    Personally, I like the organizing and planning a whole lot better than the doing ;D But then, I AM motivated by checking things off a list, so there’s that.

    Good for you for your priorities. When it comes to a choice, far better to live life than to blog about it.

    Julie

Leave a Reply

