Crochet Snowflakes from Grandma’s Stash

This post is part of Ginny’s Yarn Along.

This was my great-grandmother’s crochet hook.  She died before I was born.  My grandmother used it for years.  Now it is mine.

IMG_6482

My grandmother taught me to crochet when I was around twelve.  Before that my mother taught me to make chains with my fingers.

IMG_6481

I don’t remember my grandmother making snowflakes, but she must have because these were made from patterns in her collection.

written on an envelope

written on an envelope

ETA:  And AGAIN I forgot to mention what I am reading.  I’m still on Joan of Arc.  Mark Twain’s take is that the Dauphin was paralyzed with fear that he was not the rightful heir to the throne of France.  It took a word from God through Joan to assure him that he was the legitimate son of Charles VI before he could rouse himself to action against the English.

Please visit Ginny at Small things to see what the other Yarn Alongers are doing!

 

12 thoughts on “Crochet Snowflakes from Grandma’s Stash

    • Sara McDaren says:

      It gives me such a cozy feeling to use these things – such a feeling of continuity. My boys haven’t shown any interest in crochet so they’d better grow up and marry crafty ladies that I can pass these things on to. 🙂

  1. Dawn says:

    How very sweet! I love memories like this. I decorate my kitchen with a framed, hand written recipe for kruschiki from mee ma…not quite the same…lol.

    Meanwhile – now I have to make snowflakes. :/

Leave a Reply

