February Made Me Shiver

It doesn't look like much, does it?

It doesn’t look like much, does it?

Snow, fine hail, slush and yuck.    And that’s after plowing repeatedly for hours.  I was flooring it and barely made it to the top of the hill at the end of my “block”.  The plow driver said if I could pull up a little farther he would sand so I could get back down.

I thought the natives here just know how to drive in this mess or have amazing equipment.  Maybe that’s all true, but it’s also true that they know when to stay home.  As I waited, two other vehicles, one a cab driver and the other a massive truck, coming from the opposite direction stopped to see if I was OK and to assure me I was right to not go any farther – they were headed home too.

The broken K turn I made was more like the spokes of a bicycle because I am NOT falling in a ditch.  again.

Our school start is delayed due to fort building.  The cats are curled in their boxes next to the radiators.  I’ve painted my nails blue which maybe looks kind of cyanotic. I’m about to have some peppermint tea and curl up with a book.  So, some good comes of the winter that almost never was.

 

4 thoughts on “February Made Me Shiver

  1. Julie says:

    No snow for us this year :o( I’m usually happy to be “snowed in” for a few days (because this girl does NOT drive in the snow), but if I had weeks and weeks of it, I’d feel differently, for sure!

Leave a Reply

