Fitness Goals for 2016

I AM enjoying the longer days and warmer weather and I can’t wait for summer.  We’ve been going to the YMCA to swim (and the kids are taking lessons!) and I’m just so excited to take a trip to the ocean this year.  I miss it.  Bouncing in the chilly waves under a hot sun has got to be one of the funnest ways to spend a day.

I have some fitness goals for this year.

  • to swim a full lap at the pool – the lifeguard informs me that means there and back – one way is a length, both ways is a lap.  OK, so there and back is my goal.  I don’t remember how long the pool is, but it’s a moderate size.  Right now I can probably make it half a length.
  • I am finally going to finish couch to 5k.  I’ve tried before and have always given up about 1/2 to 2/3 of the way through.  I’m going about it differently this time by laying down a solid foundation of strenuous walking.
  • reach a healthy BMI.  Calorie restriction sucks but I need to do this before I hit menopause.  Twenty pounds down, forty-five to go.
3 thoughts on “Fitness Goals for 2016

Leave a Reply

