Will Garden for Pie

We’d been living in this house for two years when I said, “Why is there no path leading up to the front door?  I would really like to have a path here.  I’m surprised nobody ever put one in.”  Because I’m the only smart person who has ever lived in this 100+ year old house.

Yeah.

Some exploratory excavation uncovered already existing steps buried under years of soil, pachysandra, and overgrown hostas.  I think I am finally developing an appreciation for these slug sanctuaries.

IMG_6838

The bare patch in the grass? It was the home of my kids’ leaf pile.

A friend of mine has a beautiful garden.  It’s small but she has created a feeling of sheltered space – sanctuary, but not for snails.  You walk into it, wander around in it, it leads you places.  Annuals, perennials, fruit, and vegetables, large, tiny, gorgeous.

She never just steps outside for a breath of air.  She steps outside and sees the beginnings of a weed and she stoops and bends and digs it out and gets rid of it quick.  She’s always deadheading, tidying, weeding, making mental notes for later.  She has an eye for detail AND she sees the big picture.  She sees the figure waiting to be freed from the marble.

All I see is jumble.  I never know where to begin, though I’ve been around long enough to know there is no end.  Like housework.

I look at those lilac bushes in such desperate need of pruning that they barely produce flowers anymore, choked by wild grape vine and roses, and I can’t figure out where to start.  It takes snip after laborious snip – hours of work before I can make heads or tails of what I am looking at.  And now it’s tidy, but it will be years before it is pretty.  We’ll see what mulch can do.

We’re slowly converting our vegetable garden to raised beds because of my inability to see past the jumble without some artificially imposed order.  I’m not even sure we should call it a vegetable garden this year because all we’ve put in so far is strawberries and rhubarb.  Basically we planted pie.

It’s OK, I like pie.

15 thoughts on “Will Garden for Pie

  1. Julie says:

    Oooo! You FOUND those steps? Awesome 😀

    And you can’t go wrong with pie. I’d say that everything else is just the icing on the cake, but that’s mixing too many metaphors.

    When the rhubarb leaves get big the slugs will like to hide out under them. Just a warning. Ask me how I know. No, don’t. It’s gross.

    • Sara McDaren says:

      This house is such an adventure. We really thought it was just a slope up to the house where a path SHOULD be.

      Y’know when we first moved here a neighbor of mine laughed good-naturedly at me and my fear of creepy crawlies saying, “How are you going to be a country girl?” I’m proud to say that through natural exposure therapy, the only time I still scream is when I actually touch a slug. *shiver*

  2. Blair (The Shameful Sheep) says:

    PIE! Mmmm…. I love old homes in the country. Can I move in? What a cool thing to uncover, I wonder what else is hiding on your property? You should invest in one of those gold-finder-things that people use on the beach. ( My mind is seriously blanking on the right word right now )

Leave a Reply

