The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

Where did I learn that a waxing moon can be cupped in your right hand and a waning moon in your left?  Not literally of course, because that would be magic and would possibly knock earth off its orbit and be the death of us all and then that trick wouldn’t seem so nifty.  But maybe it was one of you nice people who taught me this bit of scientific coolness?  Can you teach me the counting by nines finger thing?

I can’t remember in which hand I held the moon last night while I was walking puppy.  If you’re looking for a way to increase your activity, I recommend a puppy.  Nothing motivates better than the fear of dog shit in the house.  I’ve gone from around 6,000 non-exercise steps a day to 10,000.

image001

Spring has sprung and the little boy gifts have begun to arrive.  Some little plants for my terrarium, pussy willows for the counter, creek fossils for … I think we need a fossilarium.

IMG_0003_2

 

Peepers are peeping, there are ducks on the pond, the creek is full, the mud is thick,  and the air is balmy.   Life is full of baseball, swimming, and 4H.  The strawberries will be uncovered today, and the peas and lettuces are going in this week.

It is the most wonderful time of the year.

 

6 thoughts on “The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

  1. learninglife203 says:

    You never fail to kill me! The the responsible idea of increasing activity followed by the sweet sentiment of walking a puppy… then the shit in the house punchline! I didn’t see it coming yet experience tells me I should have. I just about laughed till I peed in the floor myself. Maybe I should read your blog out by a tree so I can hike my leg in case of laughter? LOL!

    That is some thick green growing there in that tank. Is it moss AND grass?

    • Sara McDaren says:

      Glad to give you a chuckle. 🙂

      I’m not really sure what’s in there. The boys brought it home and I planted it.

      eta: I THINK it’s different mosses but who knows…

    • Sara McDaren says:

      oh! those tall things? I thought they were trout lilies but they’re not. And then they started to rot so I just pulled them out a few hours ago. and I found what I think is a white African violet in the front yard so I had my 12-year-old run out in the pouring rain to dig it up for me. He was happy to do it though.

      eta: It’s a wild violet!

Leave a Reply

