A Homemaking Schedule

Is there a job that compares with homemaking in flexibility and creative control?  It mightn’t pay much, but at least I get to make my own schedule.

I have tried a few systems  of  scheduling tasks over the years.  Flylady, Motivated Moms, Pomodoro Technique, Getting Things Done, Organize Tomorrow Today.  I like them all.  When I’m having trouble getting my shit together and find myself half-assing the work set before me, I know it’s time to switch things up.  (Just like when I get bored with my workout routine.)

Recently, I think I was inspired by The Hidden Art of Homemaking.  There’s no reason why mundane lists have to be merely utilitarian, right?

IMG_0064

The benefit of this scattered list, with or without colored pencils, is that it isn’t in a straight line.  Straight lines frustrate me because I feel as though I must cross off one item before moving on to the next – and sometimes that is not realistic.  Laundry takes all day but I can do other things while it’s going on.  Dinner is often a multi-step, multi-interrupted process.  It would be nice to be comfortable skipping around a list willy nilly, not caring if I went in order, but I have to work with what I’ve got and what I’ve got is a little bit nutty.

In the above list, I thought about what HAD to get done.

  • Eating and schooling are things we have to do everyday, and some would argue that those routine items shouldn’t even warrant a writing down.  But these things take actual time, and for me that means they must be counted.  They are also the highest priority so they went on the list first.
  • Then setting up school so the next day wouldn’t be chaotic
  • Then exercise because you can’t do today’s workout tomorrow
  • Then I filled in the rest with various cleaning jobs.

Comparing this list to the detailed craziness of something like Motivated Moms, I feel like a slacker, but trust me friends, when taken together with the million interruptions and little things that come across my path that must be done RIGHT NOW, this is a full day.

So, what do you do to make your work more interesting?  Got any new organizational systems for me to try out?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

