Just Nod if You Can Hear Me

I love dappled green sunlight through the trees and the white picket fence that needs repair or replacing.

July is more than half over.  Summer is fleeting.  The days are getting shorter.  I want to hold on with two arms.  I want to do everything.  And the more we do, the faster it goes.

We had a fire two nights ago, with roasted hot dogs and s’mores and fruit punch and the white plastic table cloth bought from a roll at Walmart.

I don’t know why I have such a hard time doing more than one thing at a time.  Concentrating on more than one project at a time.  Deciding which is most important, portioning out the hours.

My 12-year-old is impatient with me for being slow about finishing the painting in his room, so that’s what I’ll be doing today.  It’s to be a Treasure Island theme with a map and peg leg and who knows what else.  Maybe some artificial scrimshaw or baleen?

It isn’t done yet because I got distracted by sewing.  I made a muslin of a dress whose pattern has been in my drawer for ten years or so.  I can finally fit the size.  I did it in a cheap print so I can technically wear it (and I have) but it’s a little crazy-looking.  I’ll post a photo soon.

Well, I guess I’d better get out of these pajamas and into something painterly.

I saw on a church sign recently

Life is short,

Death is sure,

Sin the curse,

Christ the cure.

It’s catchy.  I don’t know if there is a known author.

 

One thought on “Just Nod if You Can Hear Me

  1. learninglife203 says:

    Oh you have to post this dress! I haven’t done any sewing in a while thanks to not having a real table. I have a plastic, fold-up type of table, and when I sew on it the table bounces all around. So no sewing for me until I get an actual table. I have a massive collection of patterns and my kids want flannel robes. So I may be doing some bouncy sewing anyway!

Leave a Reply

