School Planning

I’m sure if I just smack myself upside the head a couple of times something will fall out onto the screen.  I’m having one of those why do I blog moments.  It’s not like anyone outside a handful of friends reads here.  Oh well, I amuse me anyway.

School planning is going on a little late because I wasn’t sure if we were going to be able to continue homeschooling this year.  We’re in a bit of a financial crisis and it looked as though I might need a government sponsored babysitter in order for me to try to make ends meet.  I have nothing against public school, and I do think we’ll transition that way eventually, but it’s nice to have it be a choice instead of something one must do in order to eat.

Because our schedule is so restricted, one day last week I drove all over town looking for early morning  work in a bunch of chains/franchises.  Of course they all told me to apply online and of course I got nary a call or email back.  Let that be a lesson to you.  Be cool, stay in school.  I can’t even get a job at McDonald’s.

Anyhoo, we’re holding it together for one more year.  Let’s see what happens.

So, I sent off our letters of intent to homeschool this morning and now I’m going through the NYS educational requirements for each grade and making sure I have everything covered.  Then I’ll fill in with some cool literature.  And then I’ll spend the money.

4 thoughts on “School Planning

  1. anitvan says:

    Well I hope all goes well for you in the coming year 🙂 I’m looking forward to school and breakfast club starting up again…routines…order…all that good stuff

  2. Julie says:

    Oh, I feel your pain. It really is a sacrifice to homeschool, and sometimes it’s one we can’t afford to make. No judgement here! I’m sure you know this all, but… hit the essentials, and the library is your best friend for everything else. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

