Faulkner and a Little Sweater

I’m up.  It’s dark and it’s cold but I’m up.  I’ve fed the dog and let him out but now he’s lonely for his favorite people who are still snug in their beds.  His whining is making it hard to enjoy this rare solitude.

I’m just killing time until I get the yarn for that aran sweater from Knitter’s Almanac by Elizabeth Zimmerman, so I made this little sweater just because.  Yeah, the photo’s blurry, but you get the idea.

Christmas Ornament?

Christmas Ornament?

I’m reading a collection of Faulkner’s short stories.  I LOVE them.  They are sad but hopeful.  I put this quote from “The Tall Men” into my commonplace book:

We have slipped our backbone; we have about decided a man don’t need a backbone anymore; to have one is old fashioned.  But the groove where the backbone used to be is still there, and the backbone has been kept alive too, and someday we’re going to slip back onto it.  I don’t know just when nor just how much of a wrench it will take to teach us, but someday.

…[It is] honor and pride and discipline that make a man worth preserving, make him of any value.  That’s what we got to learn again.  Maybe it takes trouble, bad trouble, to teach it back to us….

I’m linking up with Ginny’s Yarn Along.  There are a lot of interesting readers and crafters there.

Leave a comment